Crafting (or just an excuse to go to World Market)

Drew and I spent last Saturday running several errands in the Buckhead area (after our usual breakfast stint at the Piedmont Farmer’s Market, of course).  Driving to Buckhead isn’t something I like to do regularly-even though it’s only 5 miles from our apartment, it can take up to 45 minutes.  I know, I know, can someone queue up the tiny violin?  Obviously I had to be bribed with candy a good reason to make the trip.  A.K.A., a $10 gift certificate to World Market, which can arguably be deemed the second Happiest Place on Earth.

I wouldn’t consider myself a jewelry fanatic, but I do have several pieces that I wear almost all the time.  I can’t remember the last time I walked out our front door without my pearl earrings (morning runs don’t count).  I also have several necklaces that I love, but constantly find them getting tangled in my jewelry box.  What’s the point of having a jewelry box if all the chains are still going to get knotted?  It couldn’t may possibly have something to do with my less-than-diligent storage….

Enter awesome DIY idea.  I’d seen several necklace holders on Pinterest that looked easy enough to create.  All I would need is a piece of wood or plaque, some decorative knobs, and PRESTO! A fabulous necklace holder.  Exactly how the idea would be executed, I wasn’t exactly sure, but I had a feeling it would take a little more skill and expertise than slapping on some Elmer’s glue and hoping for the best.  And that’s another reason why my husband is fantastic.  After picking out a slab of wood from Michael’s and the knobs from World Market, we headed home to put it together.  Actually, I worked on something else while Drew broke out the power drill.  Honestly, I don’t think it was too much of an annoyance to break out his tool box and play handyman for an afternoon.

photo 1

So while I may not be the craft extraordinaire, there is one thing that I can do well: bake.  Wanting to put a dent in the large container of blueberries still taking up residence in our freezer, I whipped up a batch of lemon ginger scones, throwing frozen blueberries into the batter last minute for an added sweetness.  I’d never added ginger to a scone recipe, but it sounded like a good idea at the time.  And thankfully, it was.

photo 3


Lemon Ginger Blueberry Scones

Makes 12 scones

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup chopped crystalized ginger
6 Tbs butter, cold and cut into pieces
1 Tbs lemon zest
juice from one lemon
1 egg
1 cup milk or half-and-half
1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut the butter into the flour mixture with a pastry blender or fork. The mixture should look like coarse crumbs. Stir in the diced crystallized ginger, sugar and lemon zest. In a small bowl, mix the egg, lemon juice and milk or half-and-half. Add the wet mixture to the flour mixture and stir just until the dough comes together. Do not over mix the dough. Pour in the blueberries.

Drop the scones onto a lightly greased baking sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes or until scones are lightly browned on top. Allow to cool for 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack or parchment paper to finish cooling completely.

Leave a Reply

