Recipe: Blueberry Bread Pudding

blue donkey iced coffee

Apparently it wasn’t in the cards for me to sleep in this morning.  Not that I really mind, as I’ve had plenty of quality time with the couch this week trying to get over being sick.  Still, it would have been nice to sleep in past 7:30, but the garbage trucks outside and a whiny Theo at the foot of the bed were not having it.  Feeling more energized than I had all week, I headed over to Piedmont Park for my regular stroll through the farmers’ market.  The last time I went was with Drew when we celebrated our awesome 5K times with coffees and breakfast paninis, but I just couldn’t bring myself to have one without him.  The panini, that is.  Of course I got my iced almond coffee.

With my iced coffee fix satisfied, I headed back home to start tapping into the huge supply of blueberries that’s now taking up almost a third half of our freezer.  Since picking them with Mom last week, I’ve been trying to figure out the perfect ways to use them.  So far I’ve just eaten them overtop yogurt or cereal, but this morning I finally decided to bake with them.  The results?  A baked blueberry bread pudding, from scratch.  That’s right, no recipe was followed.  I have no problem doing this when I cook, but baking can be an entirely different animal if you don’t use the right ingredient amounts, follow the directions in the correct order, etc.  I’m proud to say it was a delicious success.

While talking to Mom on the phone this afternoon, I told her about it and was able to repeat the recipe quite easily.  I also wanted to post it here to share it with her again and for anyone else who has a gazillion blueberries on their hands that they don’t now what to do with.  The recipe can easily be doubled or tripled to feed a group as part of an awesome brunch!

blueberry bread pudding

Blueberry Bread Pudding, Serves 1
Ingredients:
2 slices of French bread
1 egg
1/2 cup milk or heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp each cinnamon, ground cloves, nutmeg
handful of blueberries, fresh or frozen

Preheat oven to 350F. In a small bowl, whisk together egg and milk or heavy cream.  Add vanilla extract and spices.  Chop bread into cubed pieces and layer into the bottom of a small baking dish.  Sprinkle blueberries on top and pour egg mixture over everything until the bread is evenly saturated.  Bake for 25-30 minutes or until blueberries and bubbling and bread is slightly browned.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Blueberry Bread Pudding

  1. I cannot wait to try this – it looks delicious! Thanks for once again sharing your culinary talents.

Leave a Reply

