Cooking My Way Through Pinterest

If you follow me on Pinterest, you know that I have several pinboards dedicated to food and recipes.  If you don’t, you can click the button over to the right to see what I’m talking about.  Since I joined the site almost a year and a half ago, I’ve pinned close to a thousand recipes for everything from fish tacos to homemade Reese’s cups.  In reality, I’ve only actually made a fraction of those recipes.  Like maybe 10 or 12.  Of course it’s easy to go on an online pinning spree and find countless recipes in one sitting.  Going to the store, buying the ingredients and carving out the time to make them all?  Now that’s a different story.

pinterest meme

Drew and I have a list of 5-10 meals that make up our typical dinner rotation.  They’re all tasty, easy to prepare and relatively inexpensive.  We never seem to get tired of them but I’ve been wanting to expand my culinary horizons for a while now.  I don’t need to prepare 5-course, Zagat-rated dinners; our dinners are way too informal for that: using paper napkins and feeding Theo the occasional frequent table scrap while we watch Big Bang Theory re-runs.  Still, it would be fun to consistently be trying new things and throwing in a new dinner or two to change up the same ol’ same ol’.

So, I plan to start trying at least one new recipe, either from Pinterest or one of the countless cookbooks sadly collecting dust on our kitchen shelf, each week.  It shouldn’t be too hard, and it’ll be nice to finally revisit the recipes I pinned or bookmarked way back when–and most likely forgot about.

With that being said, I have two new recipes to share.  One is from Pinterest, the other is a concoction I just kind of came up with in my head.  I say “concoction” because, well, it doesn’t exactly look all that appealing.  But trust me, it is delicious.  I made these banana oatmeal raisin cookies, and although they’re lot chewier than the typical cookie, I wouldn’t really call them a muffin or a biscuit either.  They instantly reminded me of the oatmeal on-the-go cups that my Mom has been making for her and Dad’s breakfasts.  They were quite tasty.  So good in fact that Drew didn’t even get to try a single one.  He may have no even realized, until reading this post, that I’d even made them.

oatmeal breakfast cookies

Lucky for him, he actually got to try the second recipe.  I made these for our dinner this past Sunday night and they’ll definitely be making a repeat appearance at our dinner table.

BBQ Chicken-Stuffed Sweet Potatoes
Serves 2

Ingredients:
2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
2 large sweet potatoes
BBQ sauce (I used a hickory flavored one)
Shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Directions:
Microwave sweet potatoes for 5-8 minutes or until soft. In a large bowl, mix together the shredded chicken and BBQ sauce until it’s completely coated. Cut a slit in the middle of each sweet potato and fill with the chicken mixture. Top with shredded cheese and bake in the oven at 350F for 10-12 minutes or until cheese has melted.

See?  I said they aren't exactly pretty...

See? I said they aren’t exactly pretty…

2 thoughts on “Cooking My Way Through Pinterest

  1. Pingback: Thai Curry Butternut Squash Soup | the i do diaries

  2. Hi Megan!
    So glad to hear that you liked my breakfast cookies! We go through a batch about every 2-3 days. Thanks so much for sharing them with your readers. I wandered around your blog, very nice. 🙂
    Cheers!
    Vicki E
    Watching-What-I-Eat.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

