Drew Turns 25!

This past Saturday we celebrated Drew’s 25th birthday.  That’s right, he’s officially halfway to 50! We’ve been lucky that both of our birthdays have fallen on the weekend this year.  That way, we get to spend them together and really drag them out, which is a specialty of ours 🙂 He received several comments from friends throughout the day chiding him for turning half of a century old, but let’s hold off on that for a while 😉 Although I do have to admit, I slipped and said the same thing once-it’s easy to do!

After sleeping several more hours than we get to during the work week, we went for a run outside.  Since we’re both running in the Color 5K this coming Saturday, Drew wanted to take me on a run of the course so I have a better idea of what to expect come race day.  There were a few more hills than I’d like (heck, I’d prefer if all 3.10 miles were on a flat road!) but I was able to finish thanks to Drew’s encouragement.  When it comes to running outdoors, I’ve found that I tend to give up a lot easier than when I’m running on the treadmill, so I really appreciate that Drew’s going to stick with me during the race.  I’ve got a time in mind that I’d like to beat, but  I’m not writing it here for fear of jinxing myself. Hopefully I have happy news to report come Saturday!

Drew posing in his new shirt with the drawing I made him for his desk!

After our run we ate some lunch and took it easy around the apartment until heading to the movie theater to see The Hunger Games.  Both Drew and I had read the book and were beyond excited to see the movie.  We always go to Landmark Art Cinema, a hole-in-the-wall as far as movie theaters go, but we like it because it’s quaint, cozy and patrons are serious about their movie watching. I don’t think I’ve seen a single kid running around in all the times that we’ve been.  If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I don’t want to spoil it for you so I’ll leave it at this: I LOVED it.  It stayed true to the book and the casting was phenomenal.  It’s one of the few movies that I definitely plan on buying when it comes out on DVD.

Drew's cookie dough layered cheesecake before it went in the oven. The end result was delicious, but not very pretty.

For his birthday dinner, Drew asked that we got to Takorea, and I of course had no problem with this pick.  After first discovering it on Scoutmob, Takorea has become one of our go-to restaurants. It’s only a few blocks away from our apartment and has a really great menu and a fun atmosphere.  Dew ordered his tried-and-true pork and chicken tacos and sesame fries.  I brand out and tried a few new things: a grapefruit margarita and the curry falafel dish. Both were very good!  We actually ended up running into our neighbors while there.  That’s the great thing about Midtown; it’s in the middle of a huge city but you’re still able to feel at home and run into people you know all the time.

We went back home for dessert and to watch a few episodes of Mad Men. We’re still on the third season so I’ve had to tune out all the hoopla surrounding the Season 5 premiere. I made cookie dough cheesecake layers bars and they were a real hit with the birthday boy.  He also loved his drawing I made for him to hang up at his desk at work.  Another part of his birthday present included tickets to see The Flaming Lips, Young the Giant, and AWOL Nation in Centennial Park mid-May.  Yep, we sure do know how to stretch out birthdays in this family!

One thought on “Drew Turns 25!

  1. Pingback: The Color Run…my first official 5K! | The "I-Do" Diaries

Leave a Reply

