Good Eats

At the beginning of each week, our house church group leader Jami sends out an email with a list of which couples are in charge of which dishes for that week’s potluck dinner.  Drew and I are always excited about the dish we’re assigned to bring, and usually spend a while figuring out what to make and take.  It’s the weeks that we’re supposed to bring the dessert that I get most excited about though.  It’s no surprise to those that know me (and you don’t even have to know me well) that I have a bit of major sweet tooth. I don’t know that a day goes by without me having at least some sort of dessert, which usually comes in the form of chocolate. Lots and lots of chocolate. It’s a good thing I’m starting to become a more avid runner, because though sure my sugar habit borders on the line of addiction, it’s not something I intend to kick anytime soon.

Layer 1: Brownie, Layer 2: Peanut Butter Fudge, Layer 3: Chocolate Ganache

The peanut butter layer tasted exactly like the inside of a Reese's!

I’m always looking for new sweet treat recipes to try, if my “Sweeth Tooth” board on Pinterest is any indicator.  I’ve spent quite a few lazy weekend afternoons in the kitchen, whipping up batches upon batches of cookies.  Something tells me Drew is not at all put out by this.  Even Theo gets excited when I bake, following me around the kitchen as I spill flour and sugar, all too happy to “vacuum” it all up for me.  This past week the Hawkins were assigned the dessert and immediately I started going through the virtual library in my head of all the recipes I’ve been wanting to try.  The choice came pretty quickly: brownie peanut butter truffle bars.  Part brownie, part peanut butter fudge layer, part chocolate ganache, these puppies are the ultimate cure for the common sweet tooth hankering.

Must not eat the batter...

I wasn’t sure that one batch would be enough to feed the entire group—we have very hungry husbands—so I decided to make a batch of cookies as well.  I used the infamous Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip cookie recipe, but instead of using chocolate chips, I subbed in M&M’s and chopped up dark chocolate bars.  Needless to say, our apartment smelled good that night.  The brownies were so easy to make, and I swear the peanut butter and chocolate ganache layers together taste just like a Reese’s.  We left them in the fridge overnight so the peanut butter layer would stay nice and solid but I would definitely recommend letting them come to room temperature before eating.  We had a heck of a time trying to cut them after dinner! I ended up underestimating the richness of the brownies and we had plenty left over (never a bad thing).  Drew had the guys over for pizza and poker on Friday night so they polished off the rest.

Looking back through my older blog posts, a pattern is starting to become quite clear: I love to cook, almost as much as I love to eat.  I’ve always had a passion for being in the kitchen; I think it started at a very young age from seeing generations of women prepare holiday meals for our family feasts.  There are numerous memories I have from childhood of decorating gingerbread men and sugar cookies with Mom and Dad.  Moving forward, I’m of course going to keep documenting all our Atlanta adventures, friends and family get-togethers, and the like.  But after having a discussion with Drew about my culinary prowess (or at least willingness to learn), I think this blog is going to also focus a great deal on my foodie adventures.  Drew and I love taking photos of our meals when out to dinner; just this past weekend we were snapping pictures on our phones left and right of our meal at Shout.  From dining out to cooking in, I plan to document it all.  I can definitely promise that a Valentine’s Day themed post is already in the works and yes, there will most definitely be more cookies 🙂

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Good Eats

  1. Love to cook? Works for me. We are looking forward to our next meal with you guys. Take care and have a good week. I am glad that you all had a good time this weekend.
    .

Leave a Reply

