Ch-ch-ch-changes

Since our move to Atlanta, Drew and I have been attending Grace Midtown church every Sunday that we’ve been in town.  About a month ago we attended a young couples’ dinner for those in the church that have been married for less than five years. There we met several couples who, like us, are pretty new to the city.  It was extremely encouraging to meet other young couples who we have so much in common with.  From that meeting, we’ve established a small house church with 5 other couples that meet every Wednesday night for a potluck and fellowship.  It’s the perfect midweek pick-me-up and one of the things that I look forward to most each new week.

I consider Drew and I to be pretty young to be married; I’m 22 and he’s 24. Most of our friends from school aren’t anywhere near the life stage that we’re currently going through.  I have to admit that since becoming married, I’ve started to feel disconnected from the life I led as a college student.  While this is in no way a bad thing, it’s going to take some time to get used to.  My priorities and perspectives have evolved so much since becoming a wife, Atlanta resident and real-world career woman.  The things that used to seem so important in college now seem so trivial.  The world has opened up so much for me; I can now see beyond that house party on Saturday night or that fast-approaching research paper due date.  The things that matter most to me now are enjoying married life with Drew, exploring the big city I now call home, and excelling at my new job.

Next weekend Drew and I will be going back to WKU for Homecoming.  It’ll be the first time either one of us has stepped foot on campus since my graduation day back in May.  We’re both excited to spend a few days back on our old stomping grounds, to reunite with old friends and see how much Western has changed (or really just stayed the same).  Yet a part of me is a bit nervous to see old friends, sorority sisters and classmates again.  I think I’m going to feel so old walking from tent to tent, tailgating with current students and alumni alike.  While everyone else dishes about classes and frat parties, I’ll want to talk about my new life with my husband.  Will they notice how much I’ve changed since graduation?  Furthermore, will they like the person I’ve become?

Attending my school’s Homecoming as an alum rather than a student is just one of the new, big changes that I’m sure to experience.  No doubt there will be many more things that will cause me to think back to the girl I was in college, and compare her to who I am today.  I can’t say that either version is better than the other—they’re just different.  While it’s important to reflect on the past in order to learn and grow, I hope it’s not something I dwell on.  I want to move forward full-steam ahead, continuing to grow in my newly assumed roles in life.   For those of you who’ve recently undergone a big life change, whether it be moving to a new city, getting married, starting a new job, etc., I’d love to hear how you’re adapting!

2 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. Megan,
    Again, a wonderful post! I know what you are feeling regarding changes. I grew up having to change due to moving every four years, and just because circumstances will sometimes change on a dime.Yes, when you visit WKU next week, you will see even more how you have changed and grown. But, it ALL good. Change in our lives is God’s way of molding us more into His image. Also, it is through the changes we experience that we can encourage and help other people along the way.

    I know you are excited about next weekend. Safe travels to you when you come up!
    Love you!
    April

  2. Megan, I am truly enjoying reading your posts since you have been married and the beautiful pics too! You seem to have made a very smooth transition into your married life. i wish you all the best as you continue to grow together and pray for God’s blessings for your new life. Love and prayers! Donna Vittitoe

Leave a Reply

