A Fall Lake Getaway

This past weekend provided Drew and I with a much needed getaway from the daily grind of city life. Atlanta has been a great place to start our new life (and jobs!) together; I don’t think we could have picked a better city. Still, it’s nice to go back to our roots every once in a while to get a fresh perspective on life that a city full of skyscrapers and millions of people simply can’t offer. Friday night we drove to Kentucky, just outside of our college town of Bowling Green, where Drew’s grandparents have a cabin on Lake Nolin. It was my first time at the lake and I couldn’t be more excited. Over the years I’ve heard many stories from Drew and his family about just how special and relaxing a weekend trip to the lake can be. And yes, they were very right!

Even though we didn’t arrive at the cabin until midnight, we were up early the next morning, ready to get an early start. After a great breakfast, the girls headed into town for some shopping while the men took the boat out to fish. I’ve never really been consignment shopping before but April and Louise showed me the ropes. I must have picked up pretty quickly because I left one of the stores with 2 new pairs of brand-name jeans for less than $15. If you know me at all, you know how frugal of a shopper I am; I hate buying clothes at full-price. I love brands like J.Crew and Banana Republic, but when I shop in those stores, I head straight for the sales racks.

After a morning of shopping, we headed back to the cabin for a late lunch. I think it’s safe to say we were more lucrative with our shopping than the men were fishing! Later that afternoon all 6 of us headed out onto the pontoon for a few hours out on the lake. The weather couldn’t have been more perfect. There is something about a boat gently rocking and the warm feeling of sunshine on my face that puts me to sleep every time. Drew and I both dozed for a while until everyone decided that it was my turn to take the wheel. As it was my first time driving a boat, I’m happy to say that we didn’t crash.


We returned to the cabin for a dinner that was absolutely delicious. We then watched a Doris Day movie, With Six You Get Eggroll. I love older movies like Breakfast at Tiffany’s and The Three Stooges, so this was a real treat. Another highlight of the weekend was getting to meet the newest addition to the family, Smokey. April and Jim adopted him a few weeks ago and Drew and I had been itching to see him ever since. While we had fun playing with him, it did nothing to help our longing for a dog of our own! It really just confirmed that we definitely want a puppy for Christmas!

On Sunday, after church and more food (yes, it was a great weekend for eating!), Drew and I headed back to Atlanta. Reflecting back on a wonderful weekend spent with family, we were reminded of just how lucky we are. While we were on the boat, Drew and I agreed that for those few precious hours, the rest of the world just slipped away. The work that would arrive on our desks the next week, the upstairs neighbors that would keep us awake at night—it didn’t matter. As we both start a new work week, I challenge us both (and everyone else!) to keep that same perspective we had out on the lake.

2 thoughts on “A Fall Lake Getaway

  1. Great post! Yes, it was a GREAT and FUN weekend! You are a gal after my own heart. I love name brands but always hit the sales rack, TJ Maxx and consignment shops! it is amazing what one will find! Have a good week.

  2. How special–I am so glad you got to spend such precious time together, and know that it was a blessing to each person there.

Leave a Reply

