‘Tis the (Wedding) Season

Drew and I at Bethany and Andrew's wedding

Our first road trip back home to Kentucky took place this past weekend.  Bethany, Drew’s cousin, got married Saturday afternoon at her home in Louisville.  The wedding was absolutely beautiful; the sun was shining and the horses were neighing (literally).  Bethany looked stunning in her wedding dress and as Drew and I watched her and Andrew recite their vows, I couldn’t help but get a little teary-eyed.  I’m a sentimental person anyway; there were countless nights in college my roommates and I sat spent on the couch laughing and crying (but mostly crying) at romantic comedies.  Even though they all have the same plot line, each individual story is so different and special.  Bethany and Andrew’s wedding was no different.

Perfect weather for an outdoor wedding!

It’s only been a little over a month since Drew and I tied the knot.  It felt strange (in a good way!) to be so soon on the other side of things.  I didn’t have to worry about my hair being just right or tripping on the train of my dress walking up to the altar.  I could fully relax and enjoy myself as a guest.  There were several times throughout the afternoon where I flashed back to our wedding; the cake cutting; the first dance as husband and wife; the Best Man and Maid of Honor toasts.  I think it’s safe to say I enjoyed Bethany and Andrew’s special day with new eyes.  I hadn’t experienced at any previous wedding.  Seeing two people so happy and in love with each other made me extra proud, appreciative and adoring of the man sitting next to me.

Had to post this for my Mom-Elvis came to sing to Bethany 🙂

The rest of the weekend we spent visiting my parents up in Northern Kentucky.  It’s so great to see your parents for the first time since leaving the nest and establishing yourself as a newly married woman in a new city.  Everything has changed, and yet nothing has changed all at the same time.  We had a great night sharing wedding stories and reminiscing and sharing a great meal–Mom and Dad always know how to take care of us in this department!  We didn’t leave empty-handed the next day; Mom sent us back with wedding cake (there was still some left in the freezer—and still just as tasty I’m happy to report!), homemade peach pie and granola bars, and several other home cooked meals for us to enjoy back in Atlanta.

I’m sure every wedding we attend in the future (we already have several dates on the calendar for 2012!), we will be reminded of our own special day.  Of course we don’t mean to take away from the couple who’s day it really is; I’m sure all married couples mentally revisit their own wedding days when they see others say “I Do.”  It’s like being a part of an exclusive club, even if there are millions of other members.  We had such a special, memorable time this weekend.  There is just something so magical about a wedding day that no other life event can quite match.  To Bethany and Andrew-I wish you a lifetime of happiness and love.  Welcome to the “club!”

3 thoughts on “‘Tis the (Wedding) Season

  1. It was so wonderful to have you two there–you were very much a part of the blessings we were counting that made our wonderful day one we will never forget.

  2. Beautiful post! It was another special and beautiful day for our family! Yes, I agree that we all reflect on our own personal wedding day when we see a new couple wed. Each time I looked over at Drew and you during the festivities, my buttons just popped! So proud of you!! Enjoyed our visit, too. ( :

  3. Pingback: We’ve Been Married a Year! | THE "I DO" DIARIES

Leave a Reply

